Barwood Road, Erkine. PA8 6AB
Parish Priest: Fr. David Boyd

St. John Bosco's Parish

A Parish of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Paisley

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

(From the Catechism of the Catholic Church)

1536 Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.

1554 "The divinely instituted ecclesiastical ministry is exercised in different degrees by those who even from ancient times have been called bishops, priests, and deacons." Catholic doctrine, expressed in the liturgy, the Magisterium, and the constant practice of the Church, recognizes that there are two degrees of ministerial participation in the priesthood of Christ: the episcopacy and the presbyterate. The diaconate is intended to help and serve them. For this reason the term sacerdos in current usage denotes bishops and priests but not deacons. Yet Catholic doctrine teaches that the degrees of priestly participation (episcopate and presbyterate) and the degree of service (diaconate) are all three conferred by a sacramental act called "ordination," that is, by the sacrament of Holy Orders:

Let everyone revere the deacons as Jesus Christ, the bishop as the image of the Father, and the presbyters as the senate of God and the assembly of the apostles. For without them one cannot speak of the Church.

Diocesan contacts for vocations to the Priesthood or Permanent Diaconate

If you have any questions regarding the formation for the Sacrament of Holy Orders please contact:
Fr. John Morrison, Diocesan Vocations Director on 01475 720223 or e-mail or for the Permanent Diaconate Rev. Deacon Martin Doherty or Rev. Deacon Denis Murphy c/o Diocesan Centre, Cathedral Precincts, Incle Street, Paisley PA1 1HR

Visit our parish vocations page by clicking the button below.